Heroes Reborn aktuell auf Syfy

Monica Dawson

Aus Heroes Wiki
(Weitergeleitet von Monica)
Wechseln zu: Navigation, Suche


Monica Dawson
Monica.jpg
Darstellerin Dana Davis
Erster Auftritt Der Trost von Fremden
Charakterdaten
Superkräfte Adaptives Muskelgedächtnis
Geschlecht
Wohnort New Orleans, LA
Wohnsitz Ein Einfamilienhaus im New Orleans nach Katrina
Tätigkeit Mitarbeiterin bei einer Fastfoodkette
Eltern Unbenannte Mutter
Geschwister Damon (Bruder)
Sonstiges Nana Dawson (Großmutter),
D.L. Hawkins (Cousin, der einst wegzog),
Niki Sanders (Frau ihres Cousins, einst weggezogen),
Micah Sanders (Großcousin)

Monica ist ein weiterentwickelter Mensch aus New Orleans mit der Fähigkeit, alles, was sie gesehen hat exakt nachzuahmen. Sie ist eine Cousine 2. Grades von Micah und kümmert sich um ihn während Niki weg ist.

Entwicklung des Charakters

Der Trost von Fremden

Im Haus der Dawsons bereitet Nana Micahs und Damons Frühstück zu, während sich Monica für die Arbeit fertig macht. Sie streitet mit Damon über ein kostenpflichtige Sendung eines Wrestling-Matches, die er sehen möchte und kommentiert eine Kochshow, die Nana gerade sieht.

Bei Burger Bonanza redet sie mit Camille über ihre Bewerbung für ein Management-Programm. Sie drückt ihre Frustration darüber aus, dass der Hurrikan Katrina ihr so viel genommen hat, einschliesslich ihrer Mutter und ihrer Ausbildung am College. Während sie redet schneidet sie unbewusst eine Tomate zu einer Rose, wie sie es zuvor von der Moderatorin der Kochshow gesehen hat.

Mr. Lamont nimmt sie beiseite und sagt ihr, sie hätte es nicht in das Management-Programm geschafft. Zwar hätte sie die nötige Punktzahl erreicht, doch die Firma glaube, ihr Privatleben sei zu instabil, da sie schliesslich für ihre Grossmutter, ihren Bruder und ihren Cousin sorge.

Zurück zu Hause in der Mittagspause bemerkt Monica, dass Damon den Wrestling-Kampf sieht. Sie wird wütend, doch Damon sagt ihr, Micah sei ein Genie und habe das Kabel manipuliert. Micah entschuldigt sich und sie erinnert ihn, dass seine Mutter Monica gebeten habe, nach ihm zu sehen.

Zurück im Restaurant, entscheidet sich Mr. Lamont früh zu schliessen. Als er geht, um den hinteren Teil abzuschliessen, versucht Monica den Haupteingang abzuschliessen, doch ein Mann bedroht sie mit einer Pistole. Als der Mann die Kasse ausräumt, vollführt Monica einen atemberaubenden Spinning Kick — eine exakte Kopie eines Moves, den zuvor ein Wrestler im Fernsehen ausgeführt hatte — und stösst den Räuber durch eine Scheibe. Der Mann rennt aus dem Restaurant und hinterlässt Monica und ihren Boss fassungslos über ihre Fähigkeit.

Kampf oder Flucht

Monica unterhält sich mit der Polizei über den versuchten Raub, aber erzählt ihnen, dass sie den Mann nicht gut genug gesehen hat, um ihn zu identifizieren. Später gesteht sie jedoch gegenüber Camille, dass sie das nur gesagt hat, um Konsequenzen durch den Räuber zu vermeiden. Camille fragt, wie sie den "Karate Kick" ausgeführt hat, der den Räuber außer Gefecht gesetzt hat, aber Monica sagt, dass sie keine Ahnung hat.

Später, zu hause, findet Monica Micah, der am Klavierspielen ist und sagt ihm, dass es schön ist, wieder einen Musiker im Haus zu haben, da das Klavier unberührt geblieben ist, seit ihre Mutter starb. Während sie sich unterhalten, macht Monica Micah's Klavierspiel nach und beginnt dasselbe Lied zu spielen, ohne sich dessen bewusst zu sein, bis Micah sie darauf aufmerksam macht. Da sie darüber so überrascht ist, erkennt Micah, dass sie eine körperliche Nachahmerin ist, so wie eine Verbrechensbekämpferin in den "9th Wonders!"-Comics namens St. Joan. Er sagt ihr das und enthüllt seine eigene Fähigkeit sowie die seines Vaters. Er erzählt Monica auch von seiner Mutter, entscheidet sich aber, nicht näher auf ihre Situation einzugehen. Die zwei gehen weg, um ihre Fähigkeit zu testen und stimmen darin überein, dieses Geheimnis für sich zu behalten. Nachdem sie zurückgekehrt sind, öffnet Monica auf ein Klopfen die Tür und sieht Mohinder davor stehen.

Grenzen

Im Fitnessstudio im Firmen-Krankenhaus kopiert Monica die Bewegungen eines Turners im Fernsehen für Mohinder, der sie testet. Als sie nach anderen wie sie fragt, meint er, es gäbe andere, aber deren Kräfte wären anders und sie sei die erste, die ein Adaptives Muskelgedächtnis aufzeigt. Bob kommt herein und versichert ihr, dass ihre Fähigkeit unglaublich sei. Monica fragt, wer er ist und er stellt sich selbst als Betriebsleiter der Firma vor. Er möchte mit Mohinder unter vier Augen sprechen und die beiden Herren gehen.

Mohinder kommt zu Monica mit einer Spritze mit der neuen Variante des Shanti Virus und sagt ihr, das wäre eine Standardprozedur. Sie sagt, dass sie keine Nadeln mag, aber er verspricht, dass es der letzte Schritt in ihrem Training sei, bevor sie sie nach Hause gehen lassen. Sie schreckt zurückt und wendet sich ab, aber Mohinder entscheidet sich dagegen und verlässt den Raum.

Später bringt Bob Monica nach Hause und erläutert, dass sie eine Geschichte geliefert haben, um ihre unerwartete Abwesenheit zu erklären. Er gibt ihr eine Liste mit Kontaktinfos und einen iPod mit Filmmaterial über viele verschiedene körperliche Fertigkeiten, mit denen sie lernen soll, ihre Fähigkeit zu nutzen. Sie dankt ihm und er erwidert, ihre Gabe sei verblüffend und dass man in New Orleans "ein bisschen verblüffendes gebrauchen kann".

Vier Monate zuvor...

Monica wohnt der Beerdigung von D.L. Hawkins bei, zusammen mit ihrem Bruder und Nana. Als sie geht, sieht sie Bob in einem Wagen ankommen.

Im Bund mit dem Bösen

Nachdem ihr Bruder sich Micahs Rucksack hat stehlen lassen, in dem sich dessen Comics und die Medaille seines Vaters befinden, sagt Monica zu Micah, dass sie seine Wut verstehen kann. Sie weiß, wo der Junge, der den Rucksack gestohlen hat, lebt und bringt Micah dorthin. Da sie sich mit einer schwarzen Kapuze maskiert, sagt Micah, sie sei St. Joan, ein 9th Wonders-Charakter. Monica lacht leise und sagt, dass er zu viel in seinen Comics liest. Nachdem sie sich ein Video vom Parkour auf ihrem iPod angesehen hat, den Bob ihr gegeben hat, bricht sie in das menschenleere Haus ein und findet Micah's Sachen mühelos. Allerdings bricht eine Gruppe Brandstifter, die, aus einem unbekannten Grund, dafür bezahlt werden, Häuser abzufackeln, ebenfalls in das Haus ein. Monica versucht, sich zu verstecken, indem sie sich an der Decke festklammert, aber eine Ausgabe des St. Joan-Comicbuches fällt aus dem Rucksack und unterrichtet die Brandstifter somit von ihrer Anwesenheit. Sie nehmen sie gefangen und werfen sie in den Kofferraum eines Vans.

Machtlos

Monica wird von einem der Brandstifter in ein verlassenes Gebäude gebracht und dort gefesselt. Der Brandstifter beginnt, Benzin über den ganzen Boden zu verteilen. Er verspottet Monica dafür, dass sie versucht hat, ein Held zu sein und sagt, dass Helden in der realen Welt sterben. Er nimmt Micahs St. Joan-Comic, zündet es an und benutzt es zum Entzünden des Benzins. Monica bringt es fertig, ihren iPod aus ihrer Tasche zu holen und beginnt, nach einem hilfreichen Video zu suchen, aber kann in der kurzen Zeit nichts nützliches finden. Indem sie Micahs Fähigkeit benutzt, ist Niki in der Lage, Monica's Handy aufzuspüren und sie somit zu finden. Sie betritt das brennende Gebäude, bindet Monica los und hilft ihr zu entkommen.

Rebellion, Teil 1

Monica Dawson steht als St. Joan auf den Dächern von New Orleans in Funkkontakt mit Micah Sanders, der sie mit Hilfe seiner Komputermanipulation zu einem Einsatz schickt, bei dem sie Diebe daran hindert, das Material zum Wiederaufbau des Ninth Wards of New Orleans zu stehlen. Danach warnt er sie vor einer nahenden Polizeistreife und schickt sie über die Dächer zum nächsten Tram. Zu Hause angekommen wird sie von Sicherheitskräften abgeführt und Micah kann nur noch feststellen, dass der Lieferwagen eine staatliche Kontrollnummer hat. Später findet Micah "Dawson, M." auf der Passagierliste des Flugs 195

Rebellion, Teil 4

Nana erklärt dass sie und Damon von Monica beim Eintreffen im Gebäude 26 getrennt worden seien.

Kräfte

Monica hat ein Adaptives Muskelgedächtnis, das ihr erlaubt, ohne Übung jede Bewegung, die sie gesehen hat perfekt nachzuahmen. Sie ist sogar imstande, Bewegungen nachzuahmen ohne sich aktiv darauf zu konzentrieren, wie z.B. als sie aus einer Tomate eine Rose schneidet. Wenn sie eine Bewegung ausgeführt sieht, fällt sie in einen kurzen trance-artigen Zustand, in dem sie sich die Bewegung merkt. (In der Show wird dies nur bei manchen Bewegungen, die sie später nachahmt, gezeigt.)

Ausstattung

  • iPod — Ein Geschenk von Bob, darauf befinden sich alle Fähigkeiten, die sie erlernen muss. (Grenzen)

Anmerkungen

  • In einer CBR Frage & Antwort Sitzung erörterten Joe Pokaski und Aron Coleite genauenstens Monicas Kräfte. "Monica kann nur Dinge unterhalb ihrer körperlichen Grenze vollbringen. Als eine sportliche 20-Jährige gibt es da für sie eine Menge, was sie tun kann. Doch, wenn sie Nathan fliegen sehen würde, könnte sie nicht automatisch fliegen."

Siehe auch


  Charaktere bearbeiten
Hauptcharaktere

Staffel 2: Claire BennetNoah BennetElle BishopMonica DawsonMaya HerreraAndo MasahashiAdam MonroeHiro NakamuraMatt ParkmanNathan PetrelliPeter PetrelliMicah SandersNiki SandersMohinder SureshSylar

Wiederkehrende Charaktere

Staffel 2: Lyle BennetSandra BennetBob BishopCaitlinDamon DawsonNana DawsonDetective FullerDer HaitianerAlejandro HerreraDebbie MarshallMr. MugglesKaito NakamuraAngela PetrelliRickyWest RosenTukoMolly WalkerWeißbartWillYaekoMr. Zern

Siehe auch: Sonstige CharaktereCharaktere in der Zukunft • Tiere • Nicht ausgestrahlte Charaktere • Webisoden Charaktere • Besetzung

Monica Dawson

From Heroes Wiki
(Redirected from Monica)
Jump to: navigation, search
Monica Dawson
Monica.jpg
Portrayed by Dana Davis
First appearance The Kindness of Strangers
In-story stats
Known ability Adoptive muscle memory
Alias St. Joan
Gender
Home New Orleans, LA
Residence A single-family home in post-Katrina New Orleans
Occupation Fast food service
Parent Unnamed mother (deceased)
Grandparent Nana Dawson
Sibling Damon (brother)
Other relatives D.L. Hawkins (cousin once removed, deceased),
Jessica and Niki Sanders (cousins-in-law once removed, deceased),
Micah Sanders (second cousin)

Monica Dawson is an evolved human from New Orleans, LA with the ability of adoptive muscle memory. She is Micah's second cousin and acts as a surrogate to him in Niki's absence.

Character History

The Kindness of Strangers

At the Dawsons' home, Nana prepares breakfast for Micah and Damon while Monica gets ready for work. Monica argues with Damon about a wrestling pay-per-view event he wants to watch, and comments on a cooking show Nana is watching.

At Burger Bonanza, she talks with Camille about her application for a management program. She expresses frustration that Hurricane Katrina cost her so much, including her mother and her college education. As she talks, she absentmindedly cuts a tomato rose, just as she'd seen the cooking show host do earlier.

Monica unconsciously uses her ability.

Mr. Lamont calls her aside and tells her she did not make it into the management program. While her scores were fine, the company believed her home life was too unstable since she's taking care of her grandmother, brother, and cousin.

Back at home for dinner, Monica sees that Damon is watching the wrestling match. She begins to get angry, but Damon tells her that Micah is a genius and rigged the cable. Micah apologizes, and she reminds him that his mother asked Monica to look after him.

Back at the restaurant, Mr. Lamont decides to close early. As he leaves to lock up the back, Monica tries to lock the front door, but a man forces his way in and draws a gun on her. As the man robs the cash register, Monica performs a stunning spinning kick--an exact copy of a move she witnessed a wrestler perform on television--and sends the robber through a glass partition. The man runs out of the restaurant, leaving Monica and her boss amazed by her ability.

Fight or Flight

Monica speaks to the police about the attempted robbery but tells them she didn't see the man well enough to identify him. She later tells Camille that she only said this to avoid repercussions from the robber. Camille asks how she did the "karate kick" that knocked the robber out, and Monica tells her she does not know.

Later, at home, Monica finds Micah playing the piano and tells him it's nice to have a musician in the household again, as the piano had been untouched since her mother died. As they talk, Monica mimics Micah's piano-playing and begins to play the same song, not realizing she is doing so until Micah points it out. Because of her surprise at this, Micah realizes that she is a muscle mimic like a female crimefighter in the 9th Wonders! comic named St. Joan. He tells her so, also revealing his own ability and that of his father. He also tells Monica of his mother, but decides not to go into her situation. The two go out to test her ability and agree to keep it a secret between the two of them. After they return, Monica answers a knock at the door and finds Mohinder standing on the other side.

The Line

Monica doesn't like needles.

In the gym at the Company's hospital, Monica copies the moves of a gymnast on the television for Mohinder, who is testing her. When she asks about others like her, he tells her that there are others, but their powers are different, and she is the first to demonstrate adoptive muscle memory. Bob enters and reassures her that her ability is incredible. Monica asks who he is, and he introduces himself as chief of operations for the Company. He asks to speak to Mohinder in private, and the two gentlemen leave.

Mohinder comes up to Monica with a syringe with the new variant of the Shanti virus, telling Monica it's standard procedure. She tells him she doesn't "do needles", but he promises her that it's the last step in her training before they let her go home. She winces and turns away, but Mohinder decides against it and leaves the room.

Later, Bob brings Monica to her home and explains that they have provided a cover story for her sudden absence. He gives her a list of contact information and a video iPod with footage of many different physical skills for her to learn using her ability. She thanks him, and he replies her gift is amazing, and that New Orleans "could use some amazing".

Four Months Ago...

Monica attends the funeral of D.L. Hawkins with her brother and Nana. As she is leaving, she sees Bob arrive in a car.

Truth & Consequences

After her brother gets Micah's backpack, along with his comics and his father's medal, stolen, Monica tells Micah she understands how angry he is. She knows where the boy who stole the backpack lives and takes Micah there. Disguising herself in a black hood, Micah says that she is the 9th Wonders character St. Joan. Monica chuckles, saying that he reads his comics too much. After watching a video of parkour on the iPod Bob gave her, she breaks into the deserted house and easily finds Micah's things. However, the house is broken into by a group of arsonists who, for an unknown reason, are paid to burn down buildings. Monica tries to hide by bracing herself against the ceiling, but a copy of the St. Joan comic book falls from the backpack, alerting the arsonists of her presence. They capture her and throw her in the back of a van.

Powerless

Monica is left to die.

Monica is taken to an abandoned building by one of the arsonists and tied up. The arsonist starts spreading gasoline all over the floor. He taunts Monica for trying to be a hero, saying that in the real world, heroes die. He takes Micah's St. Joan comic book, lights it on fire, and uses it to light the gasoline. Monica manages to get her phone out of her pocket and opens it. Using Micah's ability, Niki is able to track Monica's cell phone and find her. She enters the burning building, unties Monica, and helps her escape.

Building 26

Monica's photo is seen on the wall of targeted Evolved Humans in Building 26.

Graphic Novel:Rebellion, Part 1

Monica Dawson is using her powers to help the people of New Orleans, with Micah Sanders communicating with her and using his technopathy to help her out. After thwarting a burglary attempt, Micah helps Monica escape police and they both head home separately. Over his com, Micah hears the sound of Monica under attack. At home, he finds the house empty and uses his power to learn that Monica and Nana were taken by agents, along with Damon who the agents believed to be Micah. Micah tracks his abducted family to Flight 195, and begins altering the passenger list once he finds out the plane has crashed, presuming all aboard have perished.

Graphic Novel:Rebellion, Part 4

Nana states that she and Damon were separated from Monica when they all arrived at Building 26 when Rebel rescues them.

Graphic Novel:Rebellion, Part 6

Rebel, led by Micah, launch a rescue mission for Monica, Claude and Lee. Unable to find Monica on their own, they go to Molly Walker for help. Molly, after some initial reluctance, looks and instantly finds Monica and the others in a warehouse in Pittsburgh, unable to move and unconscious due to the drug restraints. Despite the rescue mission going wrong, Rebel and Molly are able to locate and rescue Lee and Claude on board a train, but are unable to find Monica despite Molly saying she can still see Monica tied to a chair. As the novel ends, Molly figures out where Monica is actually located.

Graphic Novel:Rebellion, Part 7

Micah, Sparrow, Abigail, West and Lee arrive in Washington, outside of an abandoned hospital to save Monica after getting the address from Molly. With Micah guiding them, the team quickly find Monica being experimented on by a doctor. Abigail uses her power to stop Monica from being hurt while West pistol whips the doctor. Monica asks who they are and they explain that they are part of the Rebellion and are friends of Micah's. Monica asks where Micah is and they learn that he may have been captured. When the alarm goes off, Monica and the others escape the building unharmed.

Evolved Human Abilities

Monica has the ability of adoptive muscle memory which allows her to perfectly replicate, without practice, any physical motion that she has witnessed; either in person or by watching it on television. She is a copycat, able to replicate motions without active concentration, as shown when she absent mindedly cuts a tomato into an intricate rose. When watching a move performed, she goes into a short trance-like state as she memorizes the movement.

Memorable Quotes

"It's all about attitude, Camille."

"What's about attitude?"

"Life. And today is the first day of the rest of mine."

"You sound like a fortune cookie."

- Monica Dawson, Camille (The Kindness of Strangers)


"Half the people in this county are living in FEMA trailers, and you wanna spend good money to watch grown-up men jump around in their underwear."

"You can walk down Bourbon Street for that."

- Monica Dawson (to Damon), Nana Dawson (The Kindness of Strangers)


"I know what it's like to lose someone you love - to wish that you had a piece of them, something solid to hold on to. Anybody try to steal my mom's piano - I'd feed them their teeth."

- Monica Dawson (to Micah) (Truth & Consequences)

Equipment

  • iPod - A gift from Bob, it is preloaded with every skill she will ever need to learn. (The Line)

Notes

  • In a CBR Q&A session, Joe Pokaski and Aron Coleite elaborated on Monica's powers. "Monica can only do things within her physical limit. Now as an athletic 20-year-old girl, there are a lot of things within her limit. But, no--if she saw Nathan fly, she couldn't fly."
  • On the prisoner manifest list, Monica's last name is misspelled "Dawsom".
  • Monica's capture by Building 26 was a major part of Micah's motivation for forming Rebel along with the captures of Damon and Nana. While Damon and Nana were held captive at Building 26 and were freed by Rebel, Monica's location remained a mystery and they had to resort to recruiting Molly Walker to find her. Thanks to Molly, Micah and his friends found and rescued her as a Building 26 doctor was about to experiment on her for an unknown reason.

See Also

Fan Theories

Please refer to Theory:Monica Dawson for fan-created theories and other speculation.

  Season Two Characters edit
Main

Claire BennetNoah BennetElle BishopMonica DawsonMaya HerreraAndo MasahashiAdam MonroeHiro NakamuraMatt ParkmanNathan PetrelliPeter PetrelliMicah SandersNiki SandersMohinder SureshSylar

Recurring

Lyle BennetSandra BennetBob BishopCaitlinDamon DawsonNana DawsonDetective FullerThe HaitianAlejandro HerreraDebbie MarshallMr. MugglesKaito Nakamura Angela PetrelliRickyWest RosenTukoMolly WalkerWhitebeardWillYaekoMr. Zern

See Also: Minor CharactersSeason One CharactersSeason Three CharactersSeason Four CharactersFuture CharactersAnimalsWebisodes Characters
Graphic Novel CharactersiStory CharactersEvolutions CharactersUnaired CharactersCast